Posted Mon, May 6, 2013 2:22pm IST

The 12th Indian Telly Awards was a big night for television stars from the industry – especially for Manish Paul, Ali Asgar, Aanchal Khurana, Giaa Manek and child actor Amrita Mukherjee

Having anchored several shows on the small screen, Manish Paul was nominated in the category for anchors – the charming dude won the best anchor trophy at the 12th Indian Telly Awards for his stint on Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa 5. Manish Paul got maximum votes from fans and walked away with the winner’s trophy at the ITA 2013. He was competing with the likes of Amitabh Bachchan (Kaun Banega Crorepati), Salman Khan (Bigg Boss) and Aamir Khan (Satyamev Jayate), Karan Kundra (Gumrah) and Anoop Soni (Crime Patrol). Manish entertained with his wit and humour on shows like Dance India Dance Li’l Masters and Sa Re Ga Ma Pa Singing Superstar. However, he was hugely appreciated for his energetic and spontaneous performance on Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa 5 as its host.

“I can’t even tell you how excited I am. Being nominated with Mr Bachchan, Aamir and Salman was a big deal but winning is like icing on the cake. I don’t have enough words, but just want to thank my audience for voting for me and making me the winner,” said Manish. The actor is now all set to embark on his celluloid journey as the lead actor in debutante director Saurabh Verma’s movie Mickey Virus.

Ex-Roadie Aanchal Khurana, who won the best actor (female) in a negative role, says she can’t believe that she bagged the award. She started her career by winning the eighth season of Roadies (MTV). “I can’t believe that I won the award. Even when I won Roadies, I was in this delusion for a week that this can’t be possible. I can’t win! I am exactly in the same zone right now,” said Aanchal. The actor won for playing the cunning and manipulative daughter-in-law Charu in Sapne Suhane Ladakpan Ke. This is her first show and she was nominated along with known faces like Adaa Khan (Amrit Manthan) and Mouli Ganguly (Kya Huaa Tera Vaada) and Seema Mishra (Madhubala – Ek Ishq Ek Junoon) who left no stone unturned to create problems for protagonists in their respective shows.

“I was nominated with all the big faces like Mouli Ganguly, Adaa Khan…I really was not expecting it. They have been working for so many years. I on the other hand am just a newcomer, it was a tough competition for me. But I guess, luck and my hard work paid off,” she said. In spite of winning the award, Aanchal claims that she has no intention of playing any more negative roles. “If I take up any other show, I will be looking for a positive character.” She has been off the screen for the last few days, but is ready to re-enter the daily soap. “I was on a break for a week…I will come back with my track. All my fans have been tweeting that they are missing me and want me back,” she said.

While Aanchal won the best actor in a negative role award in the popular category, the jury award went to Adaa for her role in Amrit Manthan.

Giaa Manek, who started her career as the docile bahu on Star Plus’ Saath Nibhaana Saathiya is now seen in a comic role on SAB  TV’s Jeannie Aur Jujju.  While the show is not doing great in terms on TRP, it’s definitely a change of scene for the actor. Giaa won in the category of best actor in a comic role for SAB  TV show.

Sony TV’s favourite kid from Bade Acche Lagte Hain, won the best child artiste (female). Amrita Mukherjee –  the cute Peehu won millions of hearts with her sweet and innocent screen presence. She defeated Palak Dey as Palak Yash Sindhia from Zee TV’s Punar Vivah, Ahsaas Channa as Ashok Sundari from Life OK’s Mahadev, Ashnoor Kaur as Navika Mohan Bhatnagar(Nanhi) from Colors’ Na Bole… Season 1 and Harshita Ojha as Veera Kaur Sampooran Singh from Star Plus’s Veera.

Ali Asgar who is seen as Captain Vikram Khanna (Juju) on SAB TV’s Jeannie Aur Jujju, won in the best actor in the comic role category. He defeated Atul Parchure as Bhavesh Krishnakant Vasavda (R. K. Laxman Ki Duniya– SAB TV), Dilip Joshi as Jethalal Champaklal Gada (Taarak Mehta Ka Ooltah Chashmah-SAB TV), Rohitash Gour as Mukundilal Sughandilal Gupta (LapataganjSharad Joshi Ki Kahaniyon Ka Pata-SAB TV) and Jeetu Shivhare as Gadha Prasad (Chidiya Ghar-SAB TV).