60th National Film Awards: Irrfan Khan, Paan Singh Tomar, Vicky Donor, Kahaani win big

The National Awards were announced today and here’s a list of the winners

Irrfan Khan was disappointed at not winning best actor at some of the popular category Bollywood awards this year, in spite of being nominated. But he can take a bow now, because at the 60th National Film Awards, he has just been announced as Best Actor for his stellar performance in biopic Paan Singh Tomar. The Tigmanshu Dhulia-directed film was also named Best Hindi Feature Film. Irrfan shares his award with veteran actor Vikram Gokhale for Marathi film Anumati. Usha Jadhav won the Best Actress award for Marathi film Dhag and the Best Director trophy went to Shivaji Lotan Patil.

Parineeti Chopra received Special Mention for her debut leading role in Yash Raj Films’ Ishaqzaade. Tannishtha Chatterjee got the same award for Dekh Indian Circus. Nawazuddin Siddiqui got the same award for four films. Shoojit Sircar’s Vicky Donor took home the Best Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment award. The film’s actors Annu Kapoor and Dolly Ahluwalia also won award for Best Supporting Actor – Male and Female.

Akshay Kumar’s home production starring Paresh Rawal, OMG! Oh My God got the Best Adapted Screenplay award and Vidya Balan’s Kahaani won Best Original Screenplay. Kahaani also won Best Editing for Namrata Rao.

Kamal Haasan’s Vishwaroopam garnered two awards – to Birju Maharaj for Best Choreography and Lalgudi N Ilayaraja and Boontawee ‘Tor’ Taweepasas for Best Art Direction.

The Best Hindi Film was Filmistan and Best Investigative Film went to Ashvin Kumar’s Inshallah Kashmir, while the Best Telugu Film was SS Rajamouli’s Eega. Nikhil Adani’s Delhi Safari was adjudged the Best Animation Film.

Bedabrata Pain’s Chittagong won Best Song, Best Lyrics (Prasoon Joshi) and Best Playback Singer (Shankar Mahadevan) for Bolo na from Chittagong. Best sound recording went to Anurag Kashyap’s Gangs of Wasseypur.

60th National Film Awards Winners’ List:

Best Actor: Irffan Khan for Paan Singh Tomar and Vikram Gokhale for Marathi film Anumati

Best Actress: Usha Jadhav for Dhag

Best Director: Shivaji Lotan Patil for Dhag

Best Film on Social Issues: Spirit (Malayalam)

Best Film – Wholesome Entertainment: Vicky Donor

Best Supporting Actor: Annu Kapoor for Vicky Donor

Best Supporting Actress: Dolly Ahluwalia for Vicky Donor

Best Original Screenplay: Sujoy Ghosh for Kahaani

Best Screenplay (Adapted): OMG! Oh My God

Special Mention: Parineeti Chopra for Ishaqzaade

Special Mention: Tannishtha Chatterjee for Dekh Indian Circus

Special Jury Award – Actor: Nawazuddin Siddiqui for four films

Special Jury Award – Film: Rituparno Ghosh for Chitrangada

Best Editing – Non-Feature section: Irene Dhar Malik for Celluloid Man

Best Choreography: Birju Maharaj for Vishwaroopam

Best Art Direction: Lalgudi N Ilaiyaraja and Boontawee ‘Tor’ Taweepasas for Vishwaroopam

Best Playback Singer – Male: Shankar Mahadevan for the song Bolo na from the film Chittagong

Best Playback Singer – Female: Aarti Anklekar Tikekar for Marathi film Samhita

Best Dialogues: Anjali Menon for Malayalam film Ustad Hotel

Best Lyrics: Prasoon Joshi for the song Bolo na from the film Chittagong

Best Screenplay Writer (Original): Sujoy Ghosh for Kahaani

Best Tamil Film: Vazhakku Enn 18/9

Best Costume Designer: Poornima Ramasamy for Bala’s Paradesi

Best Make-up Artiste: Raja for Vazhakku Enn

Best Sound Recording: Gangs of Wasseypur.

Keep watching this space for more updates.