Aamir Khan’s ‘Satyamev Jayate’ will not air in Karnataka

Read on to know why the actor’s TV show skipped the state for telecast

Aamir Khan’s ambitious TV show Satyamev Jayate makes its debut on May 6. It will air on Star Plus and DD National in Hindi, and dubbed versions were all set to air on Star Network’s regional channels including Marathi, Bengali and the four south Indian languages of Tamil, Telugu, Kannada and Malayalam.

But now the show will not be telecast in Kannada, because the film and TV industries in the state of Karnataka do not allow dubbing of any content into the language, whether it’s a film or TV show belonging to Bollywood, Hollywood or any other entertainment-related industry.

Ravi Kiran, President, Karnataka Television Association explained in an interview to TV channels, “Out of 58 serials on air everyday, you have so much production, post-production etc. So many people are involved, and they depend on this. Once dubbing comes, half the programmes will be imported. All actors will become dubbing actors.”

Aamir, who was looking at uniting people through his TV show, will see this is as a sad development. But as of now, he has not commented on the issue. We just hope the ban is revoked in this case!

But what we don’t understand is, how come the Competition Commission of India (CCI) is sitting on this one? Hadn’t they fined regional film bodies for anti-competitive practices just a while back? Why can’t they include TV shows in the purview as well?