After Jeetendra, now Gulzar to receive Dadasaheb Phalke award!

The famous lyricist, poet, author and filmmaker will also receive the highest cinema award this year

Gulzar has been selected to get the 2013 Dadasaheb Phalke award. If we recall a few days back Jeetendra was also selected for the same award. The Dadsaheb Phalke award is India’s highest award for an individual for their contribution towards Indian cinema. It is annually given by the Government of India.

Gulzar saab was also conferred the Padma Bhushan in 2004 and the Sahitya Akademi award in 2002. The 79-year-old has won numerous Nation Film awards and has till date been awarded 20 Filmfare awards. Gulzar saab has brought international fame and respect for our country by means of his lyrics and poetry. He has been entertaining masses and classes from over five decades. He has also won the Academy Award for the best original score for Jai Ho from Slumdog Millionaire, which he shared with AR Rahman. The same song has also won him a Grammy award for the best song written for a motion picture, television or other visual media.

Gulzar saab was born as Sampooran Singh and his first break was with the 1963 song from Bimal Roy’s Bandini—Mora gora rang layee le. Since then he has penned songs, wrote dialogues and scripts for many a movies. Later on he also moved on to directing films, but his most intimate passion has always remained writing. Gulzar’s association with RD Burman gave the film industry numerous superhit and memorable songs. His versatility ranges from directors of various decades like Salil Chowdhury (Anand, Mere Apne), Madan Mohan (Mausam), Vishal Bhardwaj (Maachis, Omkara, Kaminey), AR Rahman (Dil Se, Guru, Slumdog Millionaire, Raavan), Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy (Bunty aur Babli). He made his directorial debut with the 1971 film Mere Apne and went ahead to give some classic cult superhit films like Parichay, Koshish and Aandhi.

BollywoodLife salutes his contribution to Indian cinema and gives him the heartiest congratulations for the Dadasaheb Phalke award.