Amitabh Bachchan to be honoured with NT Rama Rao National Award

The Bollywood superstar along with director Shyam Benegal are among those named for the Andhra Pradesh state awards

Amitabh Bachchan, Shyam Benegal, Kaikala Satyanarayana and G Adiseshagiri Rao have been selected for four prestigious state awards for 2012 for their contribution to Indian cinema by the Andhra Pradesh government. The awards were announced on March 23.

Megastar Amitabh Bachchan was selected for the NT Rama Rao National Award for for acting, while filmmaker Shyam Benegal was selected for the BN Reddi award for his directorial excellence.

Veteran Telugu actor Satyanarayana, known for playing villainous roles and supporting characters, will get the Raghupathi Venkaiah award for his outstanding contribution to cinema.

Telugu producer Adiseshagiri Rao, brother of Telugu superstar Krishna, was selected for the B Nagireddy Chakrapani award for his involvement in the constant development of Telugu cinema.

The awards will be presented soon.