Madhuri Dixit to receive the Raj Kapoor Award for Special Contribution

While director Shyam Benegal will be bestowed with the Lifetime Achievement Award

Bollywood actor Madhuri Dixit and director Shyam Benegal and will receive this year’s Raj Kapoor Award constituted by the Maharashtra government, Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan announced in Mumbai. While Benegal shall be conferred the Raj Kapoor Lifetime Achievement Award 2012, Dixit will be honoured with the Raj Kapoor Special Contribution Award-2012, Chavan informed the state legislature Friday.

In the Marathi film industry category, the prestigious V Shantaram Lifetime Achievement Award for this year will be given to veteran actor Leela Gandhi. The V Shantaram Special Contribution Award will be conferred on stage and film actor Dilip Prabhavalkar, famous as Mahatma Gandhi in Lage Raho Munna Bhai.

Constituted by the Maharashtra government, each award carries a cash prize of Rs 2,00,000, a citation and a memento and shall be conferred at a public function.