Rahman’s ‘Rockstar’ sweeps Mirchi Music Awards 2012

AR Rahman won best music director while Rockstar garnered four more awards

Ranbir Kapoor’s film Rockstar continues to win awards for 2011 for its cast and crew. Just recently it won at FICCI-FRAMES 2012, and at the fourth edition of the Mirchi Music Awards held in Andheri, Mumbai last night, Rockstar took home five awards. Maestro AR Rahman was adjudged the Best Music Director while the film won the Best Album of the Year (Jury) award as well as the Best Album of the Year (Listener’s Choice) award, making it the clear favourite. Nadaan parindey won the Best Song of the Year while the soulful number Kun faya kun garnered the Best Song – Sufi Tradition.

The Dirty Picture, whose music was composed by Vishal-Shekhar, won four awards. RA.One and Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara got two awards each. The Best Album of the Golden Era was presented to Raj Kapoor’s film Awara (1951) whose music composers were Shankar-Jaikishan. Veteran composer Khayyam was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement award. The awards ceremony had performances by prominent singers of Bollywood. Actor Saif Ali Khan jammed with the band Parikrama while Kolaveri di singer, actor Dhanush also performed.