Zee Cine Awards 2013: Sajid Khan, Prabhu Deva, Rohit Shetty, Karan Malhotra, Anurag Basu, Arbaaz Khan win special award

The most popular Viewer’s Choice Award felicitated not one, not two, not three, but eight talented filmmakers (yes, you read it right!) whose films grossed over Rs 100 crores at the box office

Probably for the first time in the history of award ceremonies in B-town, a bunch of renowned filmmaker’s efforts were appreciated and celebrated in such an unique and exhilarating way. This year, Zee Cine Awards (2013) introduced a special award for those eight Bollywood filmmakers whose movies made it to the coveted Rs 100 crore club. The awardees were Rohit Shetty (Bol Bachchan), Kabir Khan (Ek Tha Tiger), Ashwni Dhir (Son of Sardaar), Sajid Khan (Housefull 2), Karan Malhotra (Agneepath), Prabhu Deva (Rowdy Rathore), Anurag Basu (Barfi!) and Arbaaz Khan (Dabangg 2). All these directors made movies of different genres that set the cash registers ringing at the box office.

The two lively hosts of the evening – Abhishek Bachchan and Riteish Deshmukh, proudly announced the names of all the winners and invited Priyanka Chopra on stage to present the award to each filmmaker who deserved every bit of this recognition. The Bluffmaster actors got a man on stage (representing a film critic) and asked these filmmakers to bash him up in the green room, for the poor ratings he gave their films!

These bunch of directors may not have received critical acclaim but they surely won the hearts of their audiences. Way to go!

Also read

Zee Cine Awards 2013 winners list: Salman Khan, Priyanka Chopra, Ranbir Kapoor and Vidya Balan win top honours!