Lok Sabha Elections 2014: While Pawan Kalyan won’t contest in elections, Babu Mohan will contest as TRS candidate

Babu Mohan recently resigned TDP, which he had been supporting for 16 years and he has joined TRS, we hear

Telugu film actor-turned-politician P. Babu Mohan, who recently quit the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), plans to contest for the Lok Sabha as Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) candidate. 

The comedian Saturday met TRS chief K. Chandrasekhara Rao. He later told reporters that he would be joining the TRS in the first week of the next month. He said he wanted to contest the Lok Sabha election but did not say from which constituency.

He is reportedly keen on contesting from Medak, where popular actress Vijayashanti is contesting as the Congress candidate. Vijayashanti, who was elected to Lok Sabha from Medak as TRS candidate in 2009 elections, recently joined the Congress.

Babu Mohan last Sunday resigned from the TDP, with which he was associated for 16 years. The veteran actor was upset with the TDP leadership for not giving him B forms for distribution among candidates for local body elections.

Babu Mohan was twice elected to Andhra Pradesh assembly from Andole in Medak district. He was first elected in a by-election in 1998. After he retained the seat in 1999 elections, then chief minister N. Chandrababu Naidu made him a minister. He held labour portfolio. He, however, lost the elections from the same constituency in 2004 and 2009.